Firefox only prints first page of contents

It seems that there is a bug loose from the dawn of Firefox that disables printing of other pages but the first one on certain websites. Several solutions have been suggested, but none of them worked for me.

Then I approached the problem rationally. I simply disabled all style sheets, then added the style elements one by one until the print failed. I found the problem in the folllwing .CSS code:

.ThreeColumn .ContentBlock
{
    float: left;
    width: 440px;
    padding: 10px 20px 20px 20px;
    background-color: #FFFFFF;
    overflow: hidden; /* here is my problem! */
}

The problem is the overflow:hidden. When this attribute is set, Firefox only prints the first page. Maybe Firefox interprets the overflow:hidden as a command to hide text when overflowing to another page in the print?

Anyway, I removed this attribute and my page printed nicely.

About briancaos

Developer at Pentia A/S since 2003. Have developed Web Applications using Sitecore Since Sitecore 4.1.
This entry was posted in General .NET and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Firefox only prints first page of contents

  1. Ratul Nandi says:

    AMAZING catch!!! Saved my life!

    Like

  2. JD says:

    Right – except WHERE did you get to THAT screen. Step-by-step instructions for the noob’s just googling this would’vebeen more helpful.

    Like

  3. Hey guy, I have this problem now, and your post save me today (2012). Thanks for share!

    Like

  4. Didn’t work for me. I think there are multiple ways to be stung by the Firefox printing bug. In my case, applying overflow:visible to every single element on the page did not fix the issue. Only the first page prints in Firefox, while all other browsers are fine. 2014, and this is still an issue? Mozilla fail.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.