Waiting for gg.google.com

I am developing a Google Maps module for Sitecore, and when I test it in Firefox my Google Javascript won’t load. All I get is: “Waiting for gg.google.com…”.

Waiting for gg.google.com

Waiting for gg.google.com

It seemes to be a problem with certain versions of Firefox and Firebug. If Firebug has Script debugging enabled, the Google Maps script will not load.

Disabling Script debugging in Firebug solves the problem:

Disable Script Debugging in Firebug

Disable Script Debugging in Firebug

But now I cannot debug the Javascript I am creating using Firefox. Well… I’m glad I got Google Chrome.

About briancaos

Developer at Pentia A/S since 2003. Have developed Web Applications using Sitecore Since Sitecore 4.1.
This entry was posted in General .NET and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Waiting for gg.google.com

  1. Natrous says:


    This was driving me nuts, never occurred to me that it was Firebug (even though I’ve run into it before… duh)

  2. Dr1 says:

    Thank you as well, had a long night trying to trace this down.

    Guess I’m gonna have to rely on Chrome for debugging Maps.. argh.

    I’ve successfully developed Firefox+Firebug+GMaps some 5-6 months ago and it went ok.. Darn bugs :)

    Thanks again !

  3. Dr1 says:

    Quick solution : Firebug with Script panel disabled, blackbird (http://www.gscottolson.com/blackbirdjs/) for logging. Seems ok for now.

  4. Eliot Dill says:

    Yes, thank you. It was driving me crazy also. Come to think of it, I upgraded the other day. Must have caused the problem.

  5. Jakub Trunecek says:

    Great, thank you. It was really terrible.

  6. Pingback: page not loading waiting for gg.google.com | Zing Blog by ZingWiz

  7. Adam says:

    Thanks. I had this strange issue as well.

  8. Val says:

    Wow, thanks. This was driving me nuts.

  9. Roger says:

    I find the SAME problem happens intermittently on google chrome, so I don’t think we can assume it is solely a firebug problem :( Still unresolved for me …

  10. james says:

    This happens to me all the time. Once I see gg.google.com in the status line – I just hit refresh (ctrl F5) – and my site loads fine.

  11. Owain John says:

    Great post – You’ve just saved me a few days of tearing my hair out!


Leave a Reply

